top of page

Prakash Nagarajan


Prakash Nagarajan

* For very many, forced to remain home during those periods of imposed lockdowns, their confinement or home isolation lead to a manifestation of extreme emotions - of frustration, anger, insecurity, and even depression.

This poem of mine is a comment on what one (not necessarily humans) really goes through, when subject to such imprisonment.

O my master…

Your vacant stares,

Your stony face,

Standing by the window,

Your listless gaze,

O, it breaks my heart,

To see you thus…

Your care-worn face,

That barely touched plate,

You have gone thin,

Worrying over an unknown fate,

O, it breaks my heart,

To see you thus…

What a frightful stress,

And Oh, such fretful moans,

But who could've guessed,

You will one day be, forced to stay alone?

O, it breaks my heart,

To see you thus…

I do know, desire kills,

Tasteless though, do have your fill,

Just as I peck, listlessly,

Grains thrown, to my silver grill,

O, it breaks my heart,

To see you thus...

Your longings deep, for open skies,

Aren't lost a bit on me,

I surely too, will wish for same,

If I too could, but only fly,

O, it breaks my heart,

To see you thus...

If it will only, make you gay,

And in turn, make your day,

Turn around please, do take a sight,

My wings cut, are yet still bright,

O, it breaks my heart,

To see you thus…

Please remember, my advice sage,

Of that little bird, inside your cage,

Days though tough, and so truly dark,

These too shall pass, sings your lark,

O, it breaks my heart,

To see you thus...

© Prakash Nagarajan

India

اخر المنشورات
 
bottom of page