top of page

Nguyen Chinh


Nguyen Chinh

NEAR THE TET, I MISS MY HOMETOWN GẦN TẾT NHỚ QUÊ Poetess: HONG NGOC CHAU * * * *

Vừa dạy học về tôi chú ý Trước khu nhà trọ có người đông Tò mò, tôi đến xem gì lạ Một phụ nữ quê tay dắt con

Just reached home after teaching I pay attention There are many people in front of the inn location Curious, I went to see something strange A rustic woman leads a child with her hand

Cháu bé gầy nhom khoảng bốn tuổi Ngồi ngay dưới đất ý đòi bồng Mồ hôi nhể nhại đeo quanh trán Gào khóc hai tay với không trung

The child is about four years old, looked skinny Sitting right on the ground he wants to be carried Sweat was worn around his forehead near his hair Crying, he raised his hands trembling in the air

Có lẽ hai mẹ con đi bộ Chừng như bé mỏi không muốn đi Thường khi thấy lạ tôi hay hỏi Tôi hỏi cô ta “Cháu muốn gì?”

Maybe the mother and son went on foot As if he cannot go due to tired childhood I often ask when I find something strange I asked her: “What does the child want?”

Người mẹ trả lời: “Vâng cháu mệt Chúng tôi tiết kiệm tiền dời nhà Căn nhà trọ cũ, chủ đòi lại Hai mẹ con tôi đi quá xa.”

"Yes, my son is tired", she gently answered We save money on our changing dweller The previously-rented room the owner took back We have gone on foot for a long distance at last

“Xin lỗi, cô từ đâu đến đây? Khu này cô có biết quen ai? Hay cô cũng đến đây thuê trọ? Chồng ở đâu? Cô mua bán gì?

“Sorry, where are you from? Dear sister Do you have any acquaintances here? Or do you come to this place to rent housing? Where's his dad? What do you earn for a living?

“Em ở dưới quê lên lập nghiệp Vợ chồng em sống đã năm năm Đem theo cháu bé chưa tròn tuổi Nay học mẫu giáo ở lớp mầm

“I'm from my hometown to start a career here Our couple has lived in this city for five years By then this child was under a year old to take Now he's been in kindergarten at a bud grade

Còn lại dưới quê năm đứa nữa Nhà nghèo khổ nỗi lại con đông Nhờ nuôi ba đứa bên bà ngoại Hai đứa gửi chùa thầy Trí Thông

I have five more children left in the countryside Poor family, I have so many children as I can find For raising, I sent three of them to their grandma Two more children, I sent to Tri Thong's pagoda

Thành phố vợ chồng đều có việc Tôi thì phụ quán chồng công nhân Năm sau chồng bị ung thư phổi Chồng mất do không tiền thuốc thang

In this city, our couple has had a career I've been a waitress, my husband a worker Only a year later he had lung cancer unseen He died soon due to no money for medicine

Mẹ góa con côi, gắng gượng sống Chưa năm nào tôi được về quê Các con tôi lớn thư thăm hỏi “Sao mẹ năm năm chẳng thấy về?”

I've been trying to live, despite my widowed plight By now, I've never come to my hometown a time My elder children often wrote visiting letters “Why cannot you come home for five years?”

Phần nhớ các con, phần nhớ mẹ Cũng mong sẽ có được ngày về Tôi về rồi cũng phải đi lại Ngán ngẫm không tiền mua vé xe

Partly I miss children, partly miss my mother I also expect a return visiting date as ever If I went home I would have to go again indeed I fear of buying a round-trip expensive car ticket

Ruộng rẩy ở quê tôi chẳng có Lấy chồng chồng mất tôi không nghề Loanh quanh phụ quán nơi thành phố Con cái người nuôi, đành bỏ bê

In my hometown, I have no fields - not anywhere Getting married, my husband lost, I have no career Temporarily, I’ve been as a shop helper in the city People nurture my children, I have to neglect, you see

Ngày tháng trôi nhanh lại sắp Tết Tết, ngày sum họp ngày đoàn viên Về quê thể hiện bao tình nghĩa Khấn vái trước bàn thờ tổ tiên

The days go by quickly, the Tet is coming The day of the reunion is in my thinking I want to go back home to show my love a lot Can I venerate before the ancestor altar or not?

Sống lại với bao nhiêu kỷ niệm Không quên tảo mộ chút niềm riêng Giao thừa hành lễ cầu may mắn Ghi nhớ công ơn tục cổ truyền

All of my memories will be reviving enough I’ll clean up the grave for my little own love I'll pray for good luck as New Year's Eve comes Showing my gratitude to a traditional custom

Cố gắng vì những điều tốt đẹp Các con tôi hiểu mẹ nên ngoan Một trai lớp chín đang còn học Cũng cố làm thêm vượt khó khăn

As for my children for the Good they’ve tried Knowing the mom's plight, they are so docile One of my sons has been at the nine grade already He's got a part-time job to surpass the difficulty

Một gái đậu ba trường đại học Là nguồn hy vọng của gia đình Là nguồn an ủi tôi hân hạnh Có được sau bao năm bấp bênh

A girl was admitted into three university She’ll be the hopeful source of my family A comfort source I’m joyful to acquire After a lot of years with my floating life

Nghe nói năm nay trường cháu gái Có chương trình vé xe không đồng Dành cho cha mẹ sinh viên giỏi Háo hức từng ngày đêm đợi mong

I heard this year at my daughter's university A program of reward as car tickets will be free As a special gift for parents of good students I’m eager day and night to expect the occurrence

Sắp gặp mẹ cha và các cháu Tôi vui dọn đến ở khu này Thưa cô đến Tết còn vài tháng Cũng ráng đi làm và đợi ngày”

I'm about to see my parents and children I moved to live here with my contentment Dear madam! there are some months left to Tet I'm trying to go to work and wait for that date”

“Chị nói khiến tôi cảm động quá Khi về nhớ ghé báo tôi hay Chút quà từ thiện cho con cháu Chị nhớ căn nhà tôi chỉ tay”

“Your saying makes me so touched, yes, I see When returning hometown please inform me I have some charity gifts to your children too Remember the house my finger to point to…

اخر المنشورات
 
bottom of page