top of page

Dreams on the banks of the Danube


Sabah Al-Zubeidi

Dreams on the banks of the Danube

The author:, An Iraqi poet

Under the willow tree

On the banks of the Danube River

I sat down to abandon all the sufferings of parting

And to gather the eyelashes of memory

From the roots of my dreams

I cry over the land that I love

What sorrows in this wired time of assassinations and massacres..!

Oh my home, you say good bye to the roses

To the sun and life

In this blind time

The time of chaos and destruction

I dreamed but dreams were naught

But dark and reckless dreams

With the joys of the birds in the high sky

I stood there

Asking, who I am....?

Do I have a home..?

Then came a sad bird

Talked honestly with me and said

Dear stranger in this unknown land

I see in your eyes the moments of dying

As if it were the last nostalgia

Let me confess to you

You had a home once

It is torn now by the brats of this time

Thus the flood started

Your people were not able to save the tops of mountains of silence

And oblivion

Thus they exploded with rage

Now all you can say is Goodbye to Iraq

Oh my home land

You are still so close to the Spirit

You are the life

The sun

And the rain...

I'll stop crying

As it is not the final farewell

I will go back to the dreams

To contemplate the day that has to be

The day of the birth of the man’s state

Where the fire of the jungle’s law

Is extinguished as soon as the morning comes

While the flowers are savoring

The dew drops.

اخر المنشورات
 
bottom of page