top of page

One fine day, I found an egg


Lavanya Nukavarapu

Poem A SNAKE IN DISGUISE from my book "Bare Thoughts"

One fine day, I found an egg Abondoned, subject to human stomping. My soft hands picked it up and brought it home. I placed it in a warm place Safe from the world. And daily I waited for the little one to come out. Must be a birdie I thought.

Another fine day, the egg broke and the little creature was gone. Must be a birdie I thought. I was sad that it flew away. I did not have a chance to know how it looked and what it was. I placed the broken shells in my glass cupboard as a token in its memory.

Days passed by, and I kept myself busy in the garden. until one night when I was sound asleep, I heard a hiss, something moved slowly and crawled on my bed. My brother who had heard the hiss caught it and threw it away. The snake ran away and I jumped out of the bed cowering with fear.

An egg that I bought home grew into a full size snake only to attack it's saviour after it had killed several small pets in the garden. The broken shells continue to adore the showcase as a symbol for the lesson learnt DO NOT TRUST SOMEONE just because they are weak. It is possible that they can act weak or innocent to gain your trust and sympathy.

Art# Stylefilemarker from Pinterest

اخر المنشورات
 
bottom of page